Welcome to Vape.to ! Log in or Sign up to interact with the Vape.to community.

Throat Hit?!? You WANT that?!?

Discussion in 'Vape Politics and Media' started by jeark, Jan 4, 2016.

1. jeark

jeark New Member

Hi,

I'm new to vaping. Just started vaping nic today. So ...

I'm intrigued by this whole "throat hit" concept. Judging by the difference in feeling between the flavoured 0mg juice I've been "practicing" with, with and without nic, throat hit seems undesirable to me. I suspect I will be adding only VG to my 100mg/ml nic.

But let me explain:

I'm 44. I first smoked at 8. An older kid next door got me into it so he could smoke my Mum's cigs (she bought by the carton). I learned to roll at 10 and never really looked back, but didn't REALLY smoke until I was 14-15. Apart from a six month quit I've been smoking (mostly rollies) ever since. Jeez!

Anyway, I have generally experienced very little throat hit over the 30-odd years of smoking analogues. Unless I hit a "log" (that awful, harsh, nasty-tasting, makes-you-cough-like-you're-dying hit you get from a big chunk of stem in your rollie), or am smoking a tailor-made, I have always experienced smoking tobacco as a smooth ride.

My first experience today of fairly high PG nic felt like a "log" type situation. And this is one of the things I DON'T like about smoking. One of the reasons I know I need to get off the stinkies is that smoking now has that throat hit feel almost all the time. It used to be a rare thing ...

So, it interests me that so many ppl seem to think the "throat hit" feeling is desirable when, to me, it should not be a part of the smoking tobacco experience at all - I mean, the whole point of training myself to draw back was so I DIDN'T have that feeling. Maybe it's 'cos I started so young?

Anyway, I know everyone is different. I guess I'm interested to hear what others' experiences are.

Cheers,
    maqim :)